Ileana Ion (2020)

 

Around the block – “În jurul blocului” : The transformation of value in neighbourhood public space in a post-socialist city

     
Abstract  

This thesis explores the public, open space surrounding multi-storey dwellings in Circumvalațiunii, a functionalist neighbourhood of Timișoara built during the 1970s. Half of the city’s population lives in multi-storey housing constructed after 1965. Designed according to the theories of the Athens Charter, the ‘verdant areas surrounding the dwellings’, were, during socialism, put into the care of the local residents. This is the context in which the thesis starts out in order to consider the value of non-central public space in neighbourhoods. The changes of the political, economic and social structures in post-socialism, transformed the open space surrounding the blocks, in both its material and social production.

Two questions are in the centre of the research: What value is produced in the open space around the block today? Is the global model of the ‘Non-Place’, as coined by Marc Augé (1995) and later Zygmunt Bauman (2000), observable in the open space surrounding the blocks? The first question is focusing on how value is produced in public space, through everyday practices nested in the political, economic and social determinants on the local and global level. The second question looks at the influence of the globally spreading non-place into the space of the local neighbourhood.

In addition to theory, the thesis is built on collected empirical evidence, including narrative interviews with long-term residents, expert interviews, participatory observation and observational walks. Around 10 on-site explorations were conducted in a time-spam of five years.

This research has shown that there is much more to consider than the physical appearance of the space surrounding the blocks. The transformative process towards the privatisation of public space in the post-socialist period included the de-legitimisation and re-definition of hands-on, self-sustenance practices in public space. In a city that has become part of global networks, where central public space has been commodified, the value of neighbourhood public space as a place for social and political empowerment, is all the more important to consider.

     
Submitted   at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning
Supervision   Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein

Ileana Ion (2020)

 

Around the block – „În jurul blocului“ : The transformation of value in neighbourhood public space in a post-socialist city

     
Kurzbeschreibung   Diese Arbeit untersucht den öffentlichen, offenen Raum rund um mehrgeschossige Wohnhäuser in Circumvalațiunii, einem funktionalistischen Viertel von Timişoara, das in den 1970er Jahren gebaut wurde. Die Hälfte der Stadtbevölkerung lebt hier in mehrgeschossigen Wohnhäusern, die nach 1965 erbaut wurden. Die nach den Theorien der Charta von Athen entworfenen „grünen Bereiche rund um die Wohnungen“ wurden während des Sozialismus in die Obhut der Anwohner und Anwohnerinnen gegeben. In diesem Kontext setzt die These an, um den Wert des dezentralen öffentlichen Raums in den Vierteln zu betrachten. Die Veränderungen der politischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Strukturen im Postsozialismus beeinflussten den Freiraum um die Wohnblöcke herum, sowohl in seiner materiellen als auch in seiner sozialen Produktion.

Zwei Fragen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Forschung: Welcher Wert wird heute auf der Freifläche um den Block produziert? Ist das globale Modell des „Nicht-Ortes“, wie es von Marc Augé (1995) und später von Zygmunt Bauman (2000) geprägt wurde, im Freiraum um die Blöcke herum beobachtbar? Die erste Frage konzentriert sich darauf, wie Wert im öffentlichen Raum produziert wird, und zwar durch alltägliche Praktiken, die in die politischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Determinanten auf lokaler und globaler Ebene eingebettet sind. Die zweite Frage befasst sich mit dem Einfluss des sich global ausbreitenden Nicht-Ortes in den Raum der lokalen Nachbarschaft.

Neben der Theorie stützt sich die These auf gesammelte empirische Belege, darunter narrative Interviews mit Langzeitbewohner und Bewohnerinnen, Experten und Expertinnen Interviews, partizipative Beobachtung und Beobachtungsspaziergänge. In einem Zeitraum von fünf Jahren wurden etwa 10 Vor-Ort-Explorationen durchgeführt.

Diese Forschung hat gezeigt, dass es viel mehr zu berücksichtigen gibt als die physische Erscheinung des Raumes, der die Blöcke umgibt. Der herbeigeführte Transformationsprozess zur Privatisierung des öffentlichen Raumes in der Zeit nach dem Sozialismus umfasste die Delegitimierung und Neudefinition alltäglicher, sich selbst erhaltender Praktiken. In einer Stadt, die Teil globaler Netzwerke geworden ist, in der der zentrale öffentliche Raum zur Ware gemacht wurde, ist der Wert des öffentlichen Raumes in der Nachbarschaft als Ort der sozialen und politischen Ermächtigung umso wichtiger zu berücksichtigen.

     
Eingereicht   at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning
Betreuung   Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein