Elisabeth Arnold (2019)

 

The rationalities of social housing construction in Santiago del Estero, Argentina

     
Abstract
 

In Argentina, 92 % of the population lives in cities (CIA 2019). Due to the continuous growth of cities and an insufficient supply of housing matching a minimum standard, the priority of housing policies has been for several decades to systematically reduce this deficit. One of the national strategies was and still is direct property oriented social housing construction. As the demand for it is high, the creation of modest living spaces – standardized one or two family housing typologies situated in the outskirts of urban agglomeration in a timely and cost-effective manner – has been the habitual way of meeting those needs since the early 2000s. Big housing projects, financed by national funds, have been executed by Provincial Housing Institutes, leaving municipalities and local authorities without any say in significant urban growth processes and land consumption.

Looking at this practice of housing politics and urban planning, the rationalities behind official production of urban space, the tension between the national and the local scale, the public and the private and the quality of urban development areas are crucial points of interest in order to answer the research question: What are the rationalities behind social housing construction in Santiago del Estero, Argentina?

The central subject of this thesis is a specific neighborhood in Santiago del Estero, a town of intermediate size with about 300.000 inhabitants in central-north Argentina. ‘Barrio Siglo XXI‘, finished in 2012, exemplifies the specific spatial phenomenon of social housing mass construction that this research will focus on. The embedding in Latin American urban development theory and a retrospective of Argentina’s previous housing policies shall allow to contextualize the phenomenon and reveal parallels and changes in urban space production. Through applying tools of systems theory, housing policies on a national level have been critically explored. Empirical findings gained through observations and qualitative interviews have generated knowledge on the scale of the city of Santiago del Estero as well as on the micro scale of the specific neighborhood. By connecting those scales, the abstract and the concrete, five predominant rationalities of space production have been defined, that shape current social housing areas in Santiago del Estero.

     
Submitted   at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning
Supervision   Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein

Elisabeth Arnold (2019)

 

Die Rationalitäten des sozialen Wohnungsbaus in Santiago del Estero, Argentinien

     
Kurzbeschreibung
 

In Argentinien leben 92 % der Gesamtbevölkerung in Städten (CIA 2019). Aufgrund des kontinuierlichen Wachstums der Städte und eines unzureichenden Angebots an Wohnungen, die einem Mindeststandard entsprechen, bemüht sich die Wohnungspolitik seit mehreren Jahrzehnten vorrangig darum, das Wohnungsdefizit systematisch zu verringern. Eine der nationalen Strategien war und ist der direkte soziale Wohnungsbau. Da die Nach- frage nach erschwinglichem Wohnen hoch ist, stellt die Schaffung bescheidener Lebensräume – standardisierte Ein- oder Zweifamilienhaustypen am Rande des städtischen Ballungsraums – den üblichen Weg dar, um diesen Bedürfnissen seit Anfang der 2000er Jahre gerecht zu werden. Große Wohnprojekte, die aus nationalen Mitteln finanziert werden, wurden von den Provinzwohnungsinstituten durchgeführt, wobei Gemeinden und lokale Behörden bei bedeutenden städtischen Wachstumsprozessen und beim Flächenverbrauch kein Mitspracherecht haben.

Betrachtet man diese Praxis der Wohnungspolitik und Stadtplanung, so sind die Rationalitäten der offiziellen Stadtraumproduktion, das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen nationaler und lokaler Ebene, der öffentlichen und privaten Räume und der Qualität von Stadtentwicklungsgebieten entscheidende Punkte von Interesse, um folgende Forschungsfrage zu beantworten: Welche Rationalitäten stecken hinter dem sozialen Wohnungsbau in Santiago del Estero, Argentinien?

Das zentrale Thema dieser Arbeit ist ein bestimmtes Stadtviertel in Santiago del Estero, einer mittelgroßen Stadt mit etwa 300.000 Einwohnern im zentralen Norden Argentiniens. Das 2012 fertiggestellte „Barrio Siglo XXI“ veranschaulicht das konkrete räumliche Phänomen des sozialen Wohnungsbaus in Form von homogenen Massenbauten. Die Einbettung in die Theorie zu Stadtentwicklung in Lateinamerika und eine Retrospektive der bisherigen argentinischen Wohnungspolitik soll es ermöglichen, das Phänomen zu kontextualisieren und Parallelen und Veränderungen in der urbanen Raumproduktion aufzuzeigen. Durch die Anwendung systemtheoretischer Instrumente wird die Interventionslogik der Wohnungspolitik auf nationaler Ebene kritisch untersucht. Empirische Erkenntnisse aus Beobachtungen und qualitativen Interviews haben Erkenntnisse auf der gesamt- städtischen Ebene von Santiago del Estero sowie über die Mikroskala des spezifischen Stadtteils generiert. Durch die Verbindung dieser Skalen werden fünf vorherrschende Rationalitäten der Raumproduktion herausgearbeitet, welche die aktuellen sozialen Wohngebiete in Santiago del Estero prägen.

     
Eingereicht   an der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung
Betreuung   Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein