Bernadette Dannerer (2020)

 

Privatization of public housing in Botkyrka Municipality, Sweden

     
Abstract
 

This master thesis takes the privatization of municipal housing in Botkyrka Municipality in metropolitan Stockholm, Sweden despite inhabitants’ protest as a case study to gain a better understanding of how neoliberalization has shaped Swedish housing policy.

The main research question that is answered through this master thesis is: How has Swedish housing policy changed over the last decades?

The hypothesis guiding this master thesis is that while Sweden in leftist imagination has a more egalitarian political-economic model, in reality housing policy in Sweden has gone through a process of neoliberalization.

Methodologically this case study is built on literature research and newspaper content analysis. Semi-structured expert interviews help gaining additional insights into the situation of municipal housing companies in Sweden as well as the intersection of racial discrimination with displacement in stigmatized suburbs in Sweden.

The results of this master thesis confirm the hypothesis concerning neoliberalization. Due to this, municipalities are left with a double burden of having to finance renovations of existing housing while having to build new housing. Insurgent practices – of which the protests in Botkyrka municipality are an example – offer differing views on housing in stigmatized neighborhoods and the lived realities of their inhabitants.

     
Submitted   at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning
Supervision   Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein

Bernadette Dannerer (2020)

 
Privatisierung von öffentlichem Wohnbau in der Gemeinde Botkyrka (Schweden)
     
Kurzbeschreibung
 

Die vorliegende Diplomarbeit setzt sich mit der Fallstudie zur Privatisierung von öffentlichem Wohnbau entgegen dem Willen der Bewohner*innen in der Gemeinde Botkyrka im Umland von Stockholm (Schweden) auseinander. Ziel der Arbeit ist ein besseres Verständnis von den Einflüssen der Neoliberalisierung auf die schwedische Wohnbaupolitik.Die vorliegende Diplomarbeit widmet sich folgender leitenden

Forschungsfrage: Wie hat sich die schwedische Wohnbaupolitik in den letzten Jahren geändert?

Die Hypothese, die die vorliegende Diplomarbeit leitet, lautet, dass Schweden, während es in der Vorstellung der politischen Linken eine egalitäre politische und wirtschaftliche Organisation behalten hat, in Wirklichkeit einen Neoliberalisierungsprozess durchlaufen hat.

Die Methodik dieser Fallstudie basiert auf Literaturrecherche und Inhaltsanalyse von Zeitungsartikeln. Teilstrukturierte Expert*inneninterviews vermitteln zusätzliches Wissen zur Lage von öffentlichen Wohnbaugesellschaften in Schweden sowie zur Querschnittsmaterie von rassistischer Diskriminierung und Verdrängung in stigmatisierten Vororten in Schweden.

Die Ergebnisse der vorliegenden Diplomarbeit bestätigen die Hypothese bezüglich Neoliberalisierungsprozessen. Dadurch kämpfen Gemeinden mit der doppelten finanziellen Belastung Wohnbauten renovieren zu müssen, während gleichzeitig der Bedarf an leistbarem Wohnraum wieder steigt. Die Proteste in Botkyrka eröffnen von etablierten Sichtweisen abweichende Einblicke in die Diskussionen um Wohnraum in stigmatisierten Vororten und die Lebensrealitäten ihrer Bewohner*innen.

     
Eingereicht   an der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung
Betreuung   Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein