WTZ research cooperation Austria-Argentinia

Challenges for the politics of public space in Buenos Aires and Vienna: Cultural practices and social innovation. Movements, dynamics and mechanisms.
Type
of cooperation
Binational project between Vienna Technical University in Austria and the Centro de Estudios Urbanos y Regionales CEUR-CONICET in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Research (BMWF, Austria) and the Ministerio de Ciencia, Tecnología e Innovación productiva (MINCYT, Argentina).
Basis Urban politics in Vienna and Buenos Aires are currently driven by new challenges, such as fundamental changes in cultural diversity caused by very different migrations. In particular, public spaces appear as new objects on the political agenda in both capitals. However, and this is the central hypothesis of this project, in Vienna and Buenos Aires we are dealing with a qualitatively new generation of the politics of public space – initiated in the last decade in various cities in Latin America and Europe – in comparison to political programs and interventions dealing with public space.
Approach The binational project team understands these public spaces as an analytical point of entry to empirically explore the risks, but also in particular the potential of this new cultural diversity for urban development across disciplines. In this context, we use the normative concept of social innovation. By this we mean all those changes in urban social action that improve or attempt to improve the quality of life in a socially inclusive and socially equitable manner. Social innovation is not intrinsic to products but rather is intrinsic to processes, so the spatial-theoretical analyses with relational concepts of space offer themselves as ideal for the methodological reflection on and theoretical interpretation of the results of empirical case studies.
Epistemological interest
To what extent do urban politics in Buenos Aires and Vienna recognize, promote, and use public space as a strategic spatial sphere to foster social innovation potential in the cities? To operationalize this central research question, which will be worked on binationally in a highly organized work program within a two-year project, we will empirically explore which cultural practices are currently gaining momentum in public space, and to what extent they spur social innovation or harbor the potential to do so. As part of the analysis of contemporary urban development measures that cut across political alliances, we ask how these socio-cultural changes are materially expressed through shifts in urban design? Vice versa, in addition to an interest in insight, our research project is shaped its potential application in terms of a policy, planning and design guidance: in dialogue with the relevant stakeholders, we aim to disseminate the results of our circular research process in urban society, such as in the form of an interactive, dynamic guide.
Period 06/2011-05/2013

WTZ Forschungskooperation Österreich-Argentinien

Herausforderungen für die Politik des öffentlichen Raumes in Buenos Aires und Wien. Kulturelle Praktiken und soziale Innovationen. Bewegungen, Dynamiken und Mechanismen.
Art der Kooperation Binationales Projekt zwischen der Technischen Universität Wien, Österreich, und dem Centro de Estudios Urbanos y Regionales CEUR-CONICET, Buenos Aires, Argentinien. Das Projekt wird getragen vom Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft und Forschung (BMWF, Österreich) und dem Ministerio de Ciencia, Tecnología e Innovación productiva (MINCYT, Argentinien).
Basis Stadtpolitik in Wien und Buenos Aires wird gegenwärtig durch neue Herausforderungen, etwa grundlegende Veränderungen in der kulturellen Vielfalt aufgrund von ganz unterschiedlichen Migrationsbewegungen geprägt. Insbesondere öffentliche Räume erscheinen als neue Gegenstände auf den politischen Agenden beider Hauptstädte. Jedoch, und das ist die zentrale Hypothese des Projektes, haben wir es in Wien und Buenos Aires mit einer qualitativ neuen Generation der Politik des öffentlichen Raumes im Vergleich zu politischen Programmen und Interventionen hinsichtlich öffentlicher Räume zu tun, die in der letzten Dekade in verschiedenen Metrpolen in Lateinamerika und in Europa initiiert worden sind.
Zugang Das binationale Projektteam versteht diese öffentlichen Räume als analytische Eingangsfenster, um Risiken, aber insbesondere auch die Potenziale dieser neuen kulturellen Vielfalt für die Stadtentwicklung disziplinenübergreifend empirisch zu erkunden. In diesem Zusammenhang verwenden wir das normative Konzept der sozialen Innovation. Wir verstehen darunter all jene Veränderungen stadtgesellschaftlichen Handelns, die die Lebensqualität in einer sozial inklusiven und sozial gerechten Art und Weise verbessern oder zu verbessern suchen. Soziale Innovation ist nicht produkt-, sondern prozessimmanent, daher bieten sich raumtheoretische Auseinandersetzungen mit relationaler Raumkonzepten idealerweise für die methodische Reflexion und theoretische Interpretation der Resultate empirischer Fallstudien an.
Erkenntnisinteresse Inwieweit erkennt, propagiert und nutzt die Stadtpolitik in Buenos Aires in Wien öffentliche Räume als strategische räumliche Sphäre zur Stärkung des sozialen Innovationspotenzials in den Städten? Zur Operationalisierung dieser zentralen Forschungsfrage, die sich anhand eines straff organisierten Arbeitsprogramms innerhalb eines zweijährigen Projektes binational bearbeiten lässt, erforschen wir auf der empirischen Ebene zunächst, welche kulturellen Praktiken gegenwärtig in öffentlichen Räumen Momemtum gewinnen und inwieweit sie soziale Innovation bereits hervorbringen, oder ein Potenzial hierfür bergen. Im Rahmen der Analyse gegenwärtiger politikfeldübergreifender Stadtentwicklungsmaßnahmen fragen wir uns, wie diese soziokulturellen Veränderungen sich materiell in stadtgestalterischem Wandel ausdrücken? Vice versa prägt neben dem Erkenntnisinteresse auch ein Anwendungsbezug im Sinne einer Politik-, Planungs- und Gestaltungsberatung unser Forschungsprojekt: Im Dialog mit involvierten Akteuren streben wir an, die Ergebnisse aus einem zirkulären Forschungsprozess zurück in die Stadtgesellschaft zu bringen, etwa in Form eines interaktiven, dynamischen Leitfadens.
Laufzeit 06/2011-05/2013