Visiting Professorship

Inspiring and experimental perspectives

Public spaces are spaces of social exchange and societal confrontation for which diverse actors and institutions have completely different requirements. They are constantly changing according to changes in society. The variety of social points of contact between urban culture and public space therefore requires a thematically organized spectrum of research on and teaching about public space. At the same time, these diverse perspectives must be brought together systematically.

The role of the Academic Teams that convene annually in Vienna is to inspire perspectives relating to the broadly conceived annual issues of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space and, in the interface between practice and theory, to move forward and to rewrite research agendas and curricula at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning. It is important to us that we leave the much quoted “ivory tower” of the academy from time to time in favor of multiple and dialogic learning processes in order to develop an accurate sense of everyday life in cities. The team therefore engages in an open, constructive, and results-oriented manner with the conflicts and uncertainties that occur in the translation between Know How (urban design and urban planning) and Know Why (urban research) in the everyday life of cities.

Topic-specific contributions by the City of Vienna Visiting Professorship Teams

During funding phase I (2009 and 2011) the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space in the Faculty of Architecture and Planning at the Vienna University of Technology (Vienna UT) invited City of Vienna Visiting Professor (CoVVP) teams (senior and junior) each year to make valuable contributions at the interface between urban research, urban design, and urban planning in cooperation with the permanent team in Vienna. In funding phase II (2012 and 2014) and funding phase III (2015-2017), the Vienna University of Technology now appoints one person annually (City of Vienna Visiting Professorship) at the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space, Department of Spatial Planning, Faculty of Architecture and Planning, Vienna UT. This subject expert works as a team player with the director of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space and other employees – working continuously at the Vienna UT — whose primary responsibility is to express and connect the varied perspectives on urban culture and public space over the years systematically and across subjects. Thus the change of perspectives dialectically impinges upon the continual combination of substantive complexity. The intense substantive impulses and experiences of the changing senior professorship will permanently be systematized epistemologically and translated into practice, while at the same time the dialogic team concept remains in place. Beginning in 2008/9 funds from the City of Vienna in the amount of 100,000 € per year have been made available to the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space, which will allow (co-)funding for up to three staff positions at the Vienna University of Technology. In the period 2015 -2017 a part of these funds will additionally be allocated for financing a faculty-wide platform (Future Lab ‘Public Space’), in order to embed innovative and practice-oriented approaches to public space into the faculty’s teaching curricula. Links between the corresponding annual themes of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space and the current issues of the City of Vienna will be discussed and developed in a joint discussion with the Head of the Centre, the Co-ordination Future Lab ‘Public Space’ and a representative of the City of Vienna at the beginning of the Visiting Professor’s one-year term.

Two dialogically combined research and teaching areas

Students in the planning and architecture Master’s degree program, as well as other interested undergraduate and PhD students of space-related disciplines (also including those beyond the Vienna University of Technology), are given the opportunity to investigate the characteristics of creative and planning-related negotiation processes in the area of urban research Know Why, to locate their own position in professional processes of social negotiation, and to develop a sensitive awareness of the spatial and form-related attitudes of different actors with different interests, strategies, and objectives. In the area of urban design/urban planning Know How they have the opportunity to connect the actual spatial development of urban planning in the city to planning and design activities. Such questioning of understandings of space leads to a critical reflection on different conceptions of planning (Know Why). It is important to underpin tried and true impulses with new ones and to leave behind ineffective old ways and unnecessary new trends in order to rehearse anew the roles that planners and architects take on during the planning and design of the structural arrangement of public space. Participation in the processes of the production of public space requires constant flexibility on the part of planners and designers in order to participate smoothly in social processes.

Stiftungsgastprofessur

Inspirierende und experimentelle Sichtweisen

Öffentliche Räume sind Räume sozialen Austausches und gesellschaftlicher Konfrontation, an die diverse Akteure und Institutionen ganz unterschiedliche Ansprüche stellen. Sie befinden sich in ständigem Wandel entsprechend gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen. Die Vielfalt gesellschaftlicher Berührungspunkte zwischen Stadtkultur und öffentlichen Räumen erfordert daher ein themenbezogen organisiertes Spektrum in der Erforschung und Lehre hinsichtlich öffentlicher Räume. Gleichzeitig müssen diese mannigfaltigen Blickwinkel systematisch zusammengeführt werden.

Die Rolle des jährlich in Wien zusammen kommenden Akademischen Teams ist es, eigene inspirierende Sichtweisen hinsichtlich der weit gefassten jährlichen Themengebiete des Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) einzubringen und im Spannungsfeld zwischen Praxis und Theorie die Forschungsagenden und Lehrpläne an der Fakultät für Architktur und Raumplanung gemeinsam fort- und umzuschreiben. Es ist uns ein Anliegen, den vielzitierten „akademischen Elfenbeinturm“ ab und an zugunsten multipler und dialogischer Lernprozesse zu verlassen, um ein feines Gespür für das alltägliche Leben in den Städten zu entfalten. Das Team setzt sich daher ganz bewusst mit Konflikten und Unschärfen, die bei der Übersetzung zwischen Know How (Stadtgestaltung und Stadtplanung) und Know Why (Stadtforschung) im Alltagsleben der Städte auftreten, offen, konstruktiv und erkenntnisorientiert auseinander.

Themenspezifische Beiträge durch Stiftungsprofessorenteams

Das Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung der Technischen Universität Wien hat daher während der Förderphase I (2009 und 2011) jährlich ein Stiftungsgastprofessorenteam (Senior/in und Junior/in) eingeladen, um gemeinsam mit dem permanenten Team in Wien wertvolle Beiträge an den Schnittstellen zwischen Stadtforschung, Stadtgestaltung und Stadtplanung zu leisten. In der Förderphase II (2012-2014) und der Förderphase III (2015-2017) bestellt die Technische Universität Wien nunmehr jährlich wechselnd eine Persönlichkeit (Stiftungsgastprofessur) an das Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space, Department für Raumplanung der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung der TU Wien. Diese Fachgröße arbeitet teamorientiert mit der kontinuierlich an der TU Wien wirkenden Leiterin des Interdisciplinary Centres for Urban Culture and Public Space und weiteren MitarbeiterInnen, deren vorrangige Aufgabe es ist, die vielseitigen Perspektiven auf Stadtkultur und auf öffentliche Räume über die Jahresthemen hinweg systematisch zu bündeln. So trifft Wandel der Perspektiven dialektisch auf kontinuierliche Bündelung der inhaltlichen Komplexität. Die intensiven inhaltlichen Impulse und Erfahrungen der wechselnden Stiftungsgastprofessur werden dauerhaft erkenntnistheoretisch systematisiert und praxisorientiert übersetzt, gleichzeitig bleibt der dialogische Teamgedanke erhalten. Dem Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space stehen seit 2008/9 Stiftungsmittel der Stadt Wien in Höhe von 100.000 Euro jährlich zur Verfügung, mit denen bis zu drei Personalstellen an der Technischen Universität Wien (ko)finanziert werden. In den Jahren 2015-2017 wird aus diesen Mitteln vorraussichtlich ebenfalls eine fakultätsweite Plattform (‘Future Lab Öffentlicher Raum’) zusätzlich zum SKuOR Programm finanziert, um die innovativen praxisorientierten Herangehensweisen zum öffentlichen Raum in den Lehrplänen der Fakultät zu verankern. Bezüge zwischen den entsprechenden Jahresthemen des Arbeitsbereichs für Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum und den aktuellen Themen der Stadt Wien werden zu Beginn jedes GastprofessorInnen-Jahres in einem gemeinsamen Gespräch mit der Leitung des Arbeitsbereiches, der Koordination Future Lab ‘Öffentlicher Raum’ sowie einer VertreterIn der Stadt Wien diskutiert und im Dialog erarbeitet.

Zwei dialogisch kombinierte Forschungs- und Lernfelder

Den Studierenden der Masterstudiengänge Raumplanung und Architektur sowie weiteren interessierten Bachelor- und PhD-Studierenden raumrelevanter Disziplinen (auch über die Technische Universität Wien hinaus) wird im Lernfeld Stadtforschung Know Why die Möglichkeit gegeben, gestalt- und planungsrelevante Aushandlungsprozesse in ihren jeweiligen Charakteristika zu ergründen, ihre eigene Fachposition in gesellschaftlichen Aushandlungsprozessen zu verorten und ein sensibles Gespür für die raum- und gestaltbezogenen Denkweisen verschiedener Akteure mit unterschiedlichen Interessen, Strategien und Zielen zu entwickeln. Im Lernfeld Stadtgestaltung/Stadtplanung Know How wird ihnen angeboten, die aus der Betrachtung konkreter räumlicher Entwicklungen von Stadt gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in planerisches und gestalterisches Handeln einzubinden. Ein derartiges Hinterfragen von Raumverständnissen mündet in einer kritischen Reflexion unterschiedlicher Planungsverständnisse. Es gilt, Altbewährtes mit neuen Impulsen zu untermauern und sich von wirkungslosen alten Hüten und überflüssigen neuen Moden zu verabschieden, um die Rollen, die Planer und Architektinnen bei der Planung und Gestaltung von baulichen Arrangements der öffentlichen Räume einnehmen können, neu einzustudieren. Die Mitwirkung an den Prozessen der Produktion öffentlicher Räume erfordert ständige Flexibilität seitens der Planerinnen und Gestalter, sich in gesellschaftliche Prozesse sanft einzubringen.