Xenia Kopf

 

The city as performative space.  

Cultural Praxis in Urban Transitory Spaces

     
Description (German)  

The research project revolves around the role of cultural practices in urban transformation processes, with a focus on the production of space and its political dimension. It is based upon a relational understanding of space, opening up this concept towards performativity.

Through a qualitative single case study on the Arena Vienna 1976, complemented by several related contemporary cases, specific places, actants and practices (artistic as well as everyday cultural) are identified as the core elements of the space production process. Their interrelations, agencies and (de-) constructive potentials are analysed using an interpretative approach, with special regards to conflicts, power relations and hierarchies. Methods from, among others, Oral History, Urban Ethnography and Grounded Theory are applied.

The aim of the research project is to develop a multidimensional perspective on ‘the city’ aside from prevalent concepts in planning or social sciences, and instead informed by cultural studies and humanities, adequately integrating the cultural dimension of the subject area.

Supervision   Univ.Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Klaus, Department of Communication Science, University of Salzburg
Co-Supervision   Prof. Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein (TU Wien, Austria)

Xenia Kopf

 

Die Stadt als performativer Raum.

Kulturelle Praxen in urbanen Transformationsräumen

     
Kurzbeschreibung
 

Das Forschungsprojekt dreht sich um die Bedeutung kultureller Praxis in Stadtentwicklungsprozessen im Hinblick auf ihre raumkonstituierenden Qualitäten und ihre politische Einbettung. Ich gehe dabei von einem relationalen Raumbegriff aus und schlage eine Erweiterung des Konzeptes in Richtung eines performativen Raums vor.

Anhand einer qualitativen Einzelfallstudie zur Arena Wien 1976 sowie, ergänzend dazu, einer Reihe von gegenwärtigen Bezugsfällen werden Orte, Akteur_innen sowie künstlerische und alltagskulturelle Praxisformen aufgefächert. Mittels eines interpretativen Zugangs sollen deren wechselseitige Zusammenhänge, Wirkmächtigkeiten und (De-)Konstruktionsleistungen untersucht werden. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf Konflikte, Machtstrukturen und Hierarchien gelegt. Zur Anwendung kommen dabei u.a. Methoden aus Oral History, Stadtethnographie und Grounded Theory.

Ziel der Arbeit ist die Entwicklung einer kulturwissenschaftlich fundierten, multidimensionalen Perspektive auf das Phänomen ‚Stadt‘, die abseits gängiger planungs- oder sozialwissenschaftlicher Konzepte die kulturelle Dimension des Gegenstandsbereiches adäquat integriert.

Erstbetreuung   Univ.Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Klaus, FB Kommunikationswissenschaft, Universität Salzburg
Zweitbetreuung   Prof. Dr. phil. DI (FH) Sabine Knierbein (TU Wien, Austria)