Working Group TU Wien

The Internal Working Group at the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) engages in ongoing debates of central questions and themes relating to the Visiting Professorship. The following colleagues are involved in the selection of candidates in the context of the “KTH + TU Wien Joint Visiting Professorship Program in Urban Studies” (since 06/2018):​

 

Prof. DI Rudolf Scheuvens

Dean of the Faculty for Architecture and Planning

“In the context of a changing understanding of planning, dealing with public spaces also becomes an especial challenge. In their function and significant role as places for traffic and stay, communication and distance, representation and children’s play, sale and demonstration, community and individuality, the development of public spaces forever constitutes an area of conflict between the requirements of society and economic interests, between the requirements posed by design, function and use.. …” Read more.

   
Contact
Web
       
         
         
 

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sabine Knierbein

Head of the Interdiscpliplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR)

 

“Public space is where public life unfolds. The complexities of societal change are concentrated here in a small area; lived, perceived, and conceived spaces overlap and penetrate one another here abstractly as well as concretely, concurrently and with different rhythms and intensities. …” Read more.

   
Contact
Web
       
         
         
 

Prof. Dr. phil. Vera Bühlmann

Head of the Department for Architecture Theory and Philosophy of Technics (ATTP)

“So many books on the city – engaged books, portraying books, theoretical and theorizing ones, utopian, demonizing, idealizing, dystopian, polemic, humanistic, misanthropic – also misological” – ecological, juridical, melancholic or activist ones, arrogant and also uplifting ones, as well as disillusioning, neutralizing, and edifying ones… What does it mean, to be doing more than one can know of?” Read more.

   
Contact        
         
         
 

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Giffinger

Head of the Centre of Regional Science (SRF)

 

 

 

“Public spaces occupy a key position as far as the attractiveness of the European city is concerned. …” Read more.

   
Contact
Web
       
         
         
 

Prof. Dr. Simon Güntner

Head of the Centre of Sociology

 

 

 

“The condition of our public spaces is indicative of the cohesion of our society.”

Contact
Web
 

 

     
     
 

Assoc. Prof. Tigran Haas

Director of the Center for the Future of Places (CFP-KTH)

 

 

 

“Contemporary urban complexity in our cities clearly problematizes the notion of public space and begins to redefine the grammar and system of public spaces, where no universal vocabulary emerges. …” Read more.

   
Contact        
     
     
 

Prof. DI Dr. Arthur Kanonier

Study Dean of Planning

 

 

“For the study field of spatial planning and spatial organisation the teaching and research inputs as regards urban culture and public spaces represent important complements as well as advanced insights of the current academic curriculum. …” Read more.

   
Contact
Web
       
     
     
 

Ao. Prof. DI Dr. Christian Kühn

Study Dean of Architecture

 

“Today, architecture and city are inseparable concepts. Thinking about architecture presupposes thinking about the city, and vice versa. But this also changes the meaning of these two concepts and thus the professional self-conception of the actors involved. …” Read more.

Contact
Web
   
         
         
 

Dr. cand. DI Judith Lehner

University Assistant of the Interdiscpliplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR)

 

“Public space as (dis)continuously enacted site challenges disciplinary perspectives since ‘[i]t is not down in any map; true places never are’ (Moby Dick, Melville 1851).”

   
Contact        

Where the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space generates and disseminates broad and in-depth knowledge about the social complexity of built, designed, and planned urban spaces in a post-disciplinary manner, the subject departments are characterized by their respective disciplinary knowledge based on the specific patterns of thought in the different disciplines, shown through teaching and research. The assembled SKuOR team receives input from the centers and (academic) deans in the context of project-based working relationships that evolve from the specific knowledge held by the respective discipline in terms of its detail. It is also the goal of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space to bring together interested parties in the faculty’s various departments in a cross-disciplinary manner with respect to issues of urban culture and public space and to bring about cross-cutting projects in research and teaching. According to the ‘demand and support’ principle, we offer substantive debate and, on the other hand, work with professional feedback from the departments in terms of our approach. Colleagues from the working group cooperate by choice with SKuOR’s Academic Teams in required, elective, and optional courses and contribute to faculty-wide exchange on urban culture and public space. With regard to research, in their institutions they sound out how the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space can serve as a sphere of action to more strongly connect the research interests of individual employees, students, and colleagues in the relevant areas, or bring different approaches into confrontation and discuss subject positions. It is also about forging alliances and initiating joint research, and thus positioning the department, the faculty, and the university in the relevant post-disciplinary research field of current social relevance for future technical progress in the field of social innovation.

Arbeitskreis TU Wien

Der Interne Arbeitskreis des Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) verständigt sich kontinuierlich über zentrale Frage- und Themenstellungen der Stiftungsprofessur. Folgende Kolleginnen und Kollegen sind im Programm „KTH + TU Wien Joint Visiting Professorship Program in Urban Studies“ im Auswahlgremium involviert (sit 06/2018):

   

Prof. DI Rudolf Scheuvens

Dekan der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung

„Im Kontext eines sich wandelnden Planungsverständnisses wird auch der Umgang mit den öffentlichen Räumen zu einer besonderen Herausforderung. In ihrer Funktion und Bedeutung als Orte für Verkehr und Aufenthalt, für Kommunikation und Distanz, für Repräsentation und Kinderspiel, für Verkauf und Demonstration, für Gemeinsamkeit und Individualität steht die Entwicklung der öffentlichen Räume stets im Spannungsfeld zwischen gesellschaftlichen Ansprüchen und ökonomischen Interessen, zwischen den Anforderungen an Gestaltqualität, Funktion und Gebrauch …“ Mehr lesen.

   
Kontakt
Web
       
         
         
 

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sabine Knierbein

Leiterin Interdiscpliplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR)

 

„Öffentlicher Raum ist, wo sich öffentliches Leben entfaltet. Hier konzentriert sich die Vielschichtigkeit gesellschaftlichen Wandels auf engstem Territorium, hier überlagern und durchdringen sich gelebte, wahrgenommene und konzipierte Räume abstrakt wie konkret, zeitgleich und mit unterschiedlichen Rhythmen und Intensitäten. …“ Mehr lesen.

   
Kontakt
Web
       
         
         
 

Prof. Dr. phil. Vera Bühlmann

Leiterin des Fachbereichs Architekturtheorie und Technikphilosophie (ATTP)

 „So viele Bücher zum Thema Stadt – engagierte Bücher, portraitierende Bücher, theoretische und theoretisierende, utopische, dämonisierende, idealisierende, dystopische, polemische, humanistische, misanthropische – auch misologische! – ökologische, juridische, melancholische oder aktivistische, überhebliche und erhebende, ernüchternde, neutralisierende und erbauliche… Was bedeutet es, mehr zu tun als wir wissen können?“ Mehr lesen.

   
Kontakt        
         
         
 

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Giffinger

Leiter des Fachbereichs Stadt- und Regionalforschung (SRF)

 

 

 

“Für die Attraktivität der europäischen Stadt nimmt der öffentliche Raum einen zentralen Stellenwert ein.“ Mehr lesen.

   
Kontakt
Web
       
         
         
 

Prof. Dr. Simon Güntner

Leiter des Fachbereichs Soziologie

 

 

 

“Der Zustand des öffentlichen Raums ist ein Seismograph für die Kohäsion unserer Gesellschaft.“

Kontakt
Web

 

 

     
     
 

Assoc. Prof. Tigran Haas

Direktor Centre for the Future of Places (CFP-KTH)

 

 

 

“Contemporary urban complexity in our cities clearly problematizes the notion of public space and begins to redefine the grammar and system of public spaces, where no universal vocabulary emerges. …“  Mehr lesen.

   
Kontakt        
     
     
 

Prof. DI Dr. Arthur Kanonier

Studiendekan Raumplanung

 

“Für die Studienrichtung Raumplanung und Raumordnung stellen die Lehr- und Forschungsbeiträge zur Stadtkultur und zum öffentlichen Raum wichtige Ergänzungen und Vertiefungen des aktuellen Lehrangebotes dar, zumal stadtkulturelle Aufgaben und die vielfältigen Aspekte öffentlicher Räume zu zentralen planerischen Aufgaben geworden sind …“ Mehr lesen.

   
Kontakt
Web
       
     
     
 

Ao. Prof. DI Dr. Christian Kühn

Studiendekan Architektur

 

„Architektur und Stadt sind heute untrennbare Begriffe. Nachdenken über Architektur setzt Nachdenken über die Stadt voraus, und vice versa. Womit sich aber auch die Bedeutung dieser beiden Begriffe verändert und damit das professionelle Selbstverständnis der beteiligten Akteure. …“ Mehr lesen.

Kontakt
Web
   
         
         
   

Dr. cand. DI Judith Lehner

Universitätsassistentin am Interdiscpliplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR)

 

„Der öffentliche Raum als (dis)kontinuierlich produzierter Ort fordert disziplinäre Perspektiven heraus, weil er ‚auf keiner Karte verzeichnet [ist]; die richtigen Orte stehen nie darauf‘ (aus Moby Dick, Melville 1851).“

   
Kontakt  

 

   

 

Wo das Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space Breiten- und Tiefenwissen über die gesellschaftliche Komplexität gebauter, gestalteter und geplanter Stadträume in postdisziplinärer Manier generiert und vermittelt, punkten die Fachbereiche mit ihrem jeweiligen disziplinären Wissen, das auf den spezifischen Denkmustern der unterschiedlichen Disziplinen in Lehre und Forschung basiert. Das jeweilige Team des Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space erhält im Rahmen projektbasierter Arbeitszusammenhänge von den Fachbereichen und (Studien)Dekanen inhaltliche Inputs, die sich aus den speziellen Wissensbeständen der jeweiligen Disziplin in ihrer Detailtiefe entwickeln.

Ferner ist es Ziel des Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space, Interessierte der verschiedenen Fachbereiche innerhalb der Fakultät in Disziplinen übergreifender Manier hinsichtlich der Themen Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum zusammen zu führen und zu übergreifenden Projekten in Forschung und Lehre anzustiften.  Nach dem Prinzip fordern und fördern bieten wir inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung an und arbeiten vice versa mit dem fachlichen Feedback aus den Fachbereichen im Bezug auf unsere Herangehensweisen. Die dem Arbeitskreis angehörigen Kollegen und Kolleginnen kooperieren wahlweise mit den Akademischen Teams des Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space im Bereich von Pflicht-, Wahlpflicht- und Wahlveranstaltungen und tragen zum fakultätsweiten Austausch über die urbanistischen Handlungsfelder Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum bei. Hinsichtlich der Forschung loten Sie in ihren Institutionen aus, wie das Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space als Handlungssphäre dienen kann,  die Forschungsinteressen einzelner MitarbeiterInnen, Studierender und KollegInnen in den behandelten Themengebieten stärker zu bündeln, oder unterschiedliche Haltungen miteinander zu konfrontieren und Fachpositionierungen zu diskutieren. Auch geht es darum, gemeinsame Allianzen in der Forschungsanbahnung zu schmieden, und damit das Department, die Fakultät und die TU Wien in diesem relevanten postdisziplinären Forschungsfeld von aktueller gesellschaftlicher Relevanz für zukünftigen technischen Fortschritt im Bereich der sozialen Innovationen zu positionieren.