Phase III: 2015 – 2017

2017 Urban culture, public space and the future – Urban equity and the global agenda

Planning programs, draft plans, and the everyday cultural evidence of future cities and districts seen within projects are investigated, discussed, and placed in relation to models of future academic education. Because when climate change, resource conservation, and migration increasingly shape urban agendas, wide-reaching urban action is needed to develop a cross-border professional ethics. This claim is followed by the call to increase the focus on human rights in the education of planners, builders, and designers. With regard to global political programs with an urban focus, new developments are becoming apparent that stylize public spaces into the central places of global urban coexistence. For the students, such a global framework of thought and action represents a means to come to understand planning and design of public spaces from the perspective of the Global South, for example. Here postcolonial approaches used in planning and design come to fruition. This is about overcoming patterns of intellectual and cultural domination in favor of allowing mutual learning processes to flourish in the spirit of global and local collaboration. Read more.

2016 Urban culture, public space, and the present – Urban solidarity and european crisis

The currently existing everyday and professional cultures of urban experts are related to today’s university education of graduates who work at local and global scale. Approaches to spatial development based on solidarity that take on the everyday cultural dimensions of public life in the city and involve residents and NGOs as everyday experts are currently trendy. At present, however, serious problems like youth unemployment and impoverishment of populations are apparent in public spaces, especially in southern parts of Europe. What approaches based on solidarity, everyday culture and anti-discrimination can currently be reinforced in the planning and design of public spaces (fair sharing). Read more.

2015 Urban culture, public space, and the past – Urban peace and national welfare

Here, evolved everyday culture is set in relation to the professional culture of urban experts and the university training of its time. Various urban and professional historical periods can be addressed with urban peace. During the era of the welfare state, the university education of urban professionals was marked by the institutional relationship of municipalities to states and nations.

In terms of methods, the focus is on the one hand turned toward de-escalatatory approaches of inclusive urban planning in historically crisis-ridden cities; on the other hand, the historic urban culture of particularly peaceful cities is considered. Thereby, we seek to understand urban culture and public space as important social fields for establishing and keeping societal piece in the city. Read more.

 

Comments are closed.

Phase III: 2015 – 2017

2017 Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und die Zukunft – Verteilungsgerechtigkeit in den Städten und globale Agenda

Planungsprogramme, Gestaltentwürfe und die in Projekten eingeschriebenen alltagskulturellen Aussagen für zukünftige Städte und Stadtteile werden untersucht, diskutiert und in Beziehung zu Modellen für die zukünftige akademische Bildung gesetzt. Denn wo Klimawandel, Ressourcenschonung und Migration urbane Agenden verstärkt prägen, ist weitreichendes städtisches Handeln gefragt, um eine grenzüberschreitende Berufsethik zu entwickeln. Dieser Forderung folgt der Ruf nach der stärkeren Berücksichtigung der Menschenrechte auch in der Bildung von Planenden, Bauenden und Gestaltenden. Auf der globalen Schiene von Politikprogrammen mit Stadtfokus zeichnen sich jüngere Entwicklungen ab, die die öffentlichen Räume zu zentralen Orte des globalen urbanen Zusammenlebens stilisieren. Für die Studierenden bedeutet ein solch globaler Denk- und Handlungsrahmen, Planung und Gestaltung öffentlicher Räume z.B. aus der Perspektive des globalen Südens verstehen zu lernen. Hier kommen postkoloniale Herangehensweisen in Planung und Gestaltung zum Tragen. Es geht darum, Muster intellektueller und kultureller Dominanz zugunsten eines Zulassens wechselseitiger Lernprozesse in der globalen wie lokalen Zusammenarbeit zu überwinden. Read more.

2016 Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und die Gegenwart – Urbane Solidarität und die Krise Europas

Die gegenwärtig gelebten Alltags- und Berufskulturen der städtischen ExpertInnen stehen in Bezug zur heutigen universitären Ausbildung für lokal wie global arbeitende Absolventinnen. Derzeit liegen solidarische Ansätze räumlicher Entwicklung im Trend, die sich den alltagskulturellen Dimensionen des öffentlichen Lebens in der Stadt annehmen und BewohnerInnen und NGOs als AlltagsexpertInnen einbinden. Insbesondere in Südeuropa und andernorts zeichnen sich jedoch derzeit ernste Problemlagen wie Jugendarbeitslosigkeit und Verarmung weiter Bevölkerungsteile in den öffentlichen Räumen ab. Welche solidarischen, alltagskulturellen und antidiskriminierenden Herangehensweisen lassen sich derzeit in der Planung und Gestaltung öffentlicher Räume verstärken (fair sharing)? Read more.

2015 Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und die Vergangenheit – Städtischer Frieden und der Wohlfahrtsstaat

Hier wird die gewachsene Alltagskultur in Bezug zur Berufskultur der städtischen ExpertInnen und zur universitären Ausbildung ihrer Zeit gesetzt. Mit dem städtischen Frieden können verschiedene stadt- und professionsgeschichtliche Zeitabschnitte thematisiert werden. Während der Ära des Wohlfahrtsstaates war die universitäre Bildung der StadtexperInnen geprägt durch die institutionelle Beziehung von Kommunen zu Bundesländern und Staat.

Methodisch richten wir einerseits der Fokus auf deeskalierende Herangehensweisen der inklusiven Stadtplanung in historisch von Krisen geschüttelten Städten gelenkt, andererseits wird die historische Stadtkultur besonders friedlicher Städte in den Blick genommen. Wir möchten öffentliche Räume und auch Stadtkultur als wichtige soziale Felder der Etablierung und Bewahrungs des gesellschaftlichen Friedens in der Stadt verstehen. Read more.

 

Kommentare sind geschlossen.