Phase II – 2013

2013 Urban culture, public space, and knowledge – Education and difference

It is a normative task of urban planners to link various fields of knowledge with the goal of managing spatial development sustainably and democratically. They continuously produce and utilize spatial knowledge (mental production of space). They outline ideas, projections, and visions based on data that will later be carved in stone and cast in steel in hopes of offering support – a robust backbone – for the dynamic changes in society. Space as a productive process “is considered here at one (…) level as a result of accumulated scientific insights that permeate the working process and thus are materially effective” (Schmid 2005, 207, translated by William Magruder). Given the current increasing relevance of knowledge per se it is also apparent that the altered meaning of knowledge as a resource in contemporary urban development can no longer be understood only physically. Access to education and the recognition of social difference need to become meaningful in the development and interconnection of different fields of academic knowledge, however, if present challenges such as migration, diversity, and the structural transformation of cities are to be handled well. This year’s theme of “Urban culture, public space, and knowledge – Education and difference” will thus be approached in a transdisciplinary manner. Public space is used here as a space of reflection and an arena for action for urban planners that serves the forging of knowledge alliances between theory and practice in the claiming of space, among universities, schools, and nursery schools, and all other organizations where cross-cultural learning takes place with an awareness of actually existing social difference.

The focus on education brings up the question of the social character of spatial innovation. Which forms of lifelong learning and dialogical knowledge transfer processes are formed spatially? How are current educational institutions organized spatially, and to what extent can public space play a more central role in the spatial organization of schools, community colleges, and universities than it did in the Fordist city? To what extent do current urban development projects in education represent a plea for the acceptance of difference in ways of living and cultures in Vienna, a city which, like many others, has historically been dominated by the influx of different population groups? If the forms of knowledge transfer between different areas and stocks of knowledge have changed rapidly due to shifts in media, is this expressed just as quickly through space? What is the role of public space in such transformations in the contemporary post-Fordist city?

Even the obvious opportunities that arise for urban planning action in the course of knowledge production in public space appear rudimentary, and are not yet sufficiently understood and made useful for the practice of dialogic learning and participatory action research. Thus the theme for 2013 is based on the theme of conceived spaces, on the projections and visions that are mentally (pre)produced, and thus de facto affect spatial development. What knowledge base do public space planning efforts draw upon, and how did this situation change with the advent of post-Fordist knowledge economies? Do scientific advances that bring urban-cultural and knowledge-related perspectives to bear on public space already exist?

In 2013 an approach is taken in which the Vienna University of Technology (Vienna UT) and its actors at the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) consciously cooperate with other educational institutions (schools, community colleges, nursery schools, etc.) regarding public space by creating learning alliances. In this way, the dialogical knowledge transfer about the unique local characteristics of certain places as well as how they are being reshaped globally can be conveyed by drawing upon academic knowledge, professional expertise, and local everyday knowledge (transdisciplinarity). Such a strong focus on education as a part of culture and the recognition of difference in urban society is per se inscribed in an urban-cultural approach to planning and architecture in democratic countries.

Phase II – 2013

2013  Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Wissen – Bildung und Differenz

Es ist normative Aufgabe von Stadtplanenden, verschiedene Wissensfelder mit dem Ziel zu verknüpfen, räumliche Entwicklung nachhaltig und demokratisch zu steuern. Sie produzieren kontinuierlich raumbezogenes Wissen und wenden dies permanent an (mentale Raumproduktion). Von ihnen werden datenbasierte Vorstellungen, Projektionen und Visionen skizziert, die später in der Hoffnung in Stein gemeißelt und Stahl gegossen werden, dem dynamischen gesellschaftlichen Wandel Rückhalt – ein  robustes Rückgrat – zu bieten. Raum als produktiver Prozess „wird hier auf einer (…) Ebene betrachtet, als Resultat von akkumulierten wissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen, die den Arbeitsprozess durchdringen und damit materiell wirksam werden.“ (Schmid 2005, 207). Vor dem Hintergrund der gegenwärtig zunehmenden Relevanz von Wissen per se wird auch ersichtlich, dass sich die veränderte Bedeutung von Wissen als Ressource in der zeitgenössischen Stadtentwicklung nicht mehr allein rein physisch ablesen lässt. Der Zugang zu Bildung und das Anerkennen von sozialer Differenz müssen aber in der akademischen Erschließung und Verknüpfung verschiedener Wissensfelder an Bedeutung gewinnen, will man gegenwärtige Herausforderungen wie Bevölkerungsbewegungen und Vielfalt in den Lebensweisen sowie den Strukturwandel der Städte weise bewältigen. Das Jahresthema „Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Wissen – Bildung und Differenz“ wird daher in transdisziplinärer Manier bearbeitet: Öffentliche Räume dienen hier als Räume der Reflexion und Arenen der Aktion für Stadtplanende, sie dienen dem Schmieden von Wissensallianzen zwischen Theorie und Praxis der räumlichen Inanspruchnahmen, zwischen Universitäten, Schulen und Kindergärten und schlichtweg allen weiteren Vereinigungen, in denen unter Berücksichtigung der tatsächlichen sozialen Differenz kulturübergreifend gelernt wird.

Mit dem Fokus auf Bildung wird weiterhin die Frage nach dem sozialen Charakter räumlicher Innovation gestellt. Welche Formen des lebenslangen Lernens und der dialogischen Wissenstransferprozesse bilden sich wie räumlich ab? Wie sind gegenwärtige Bildungseinrichtungen räumlich organisiert, und inwieweit spielen öffentliche Räume für die räumliche Organisation von Schulen, Volkshochschulen und Hochschulen nunmehr eine zentralere Rolle als in der fordistischen Stadt? Inwieweit reflektieren gegenwärtige Projekte der Stadtentwicklung im Bildungsbereich ein Plädoyer für Differenz der Lebensweisen und Kulturen in Wien, einer Stadt, die – wie viele andere – bereits historisch vom Zuzug unterschiedlicher Bevölkerungsgruppen geprägt war? Wenn sich die Formen der Wissensvermittlung zwischen verschiedenen Wissensfeldern und –beständen rasant im Zuge des medialen Wandels verändert haben, drückt sich dies räumlich ebenso rasch aus? Welche Rolle übernehmen öffentliche Räume bei derartigen Transformationen in der gegenwärtigen postfordistischen Stadt?

Auch die offensichtlichen Möglichkeiten, die sich für stadtplanerisches Handeln im Zuge der Wissensgewinnung in öffentlichen Räumen ergeben, erscheinen ansatzweise, jedoch noch nicht hinreichend erfasst und für die Praxis des dialogischen Lernens und der partizipativen Aktionsforschung nutzbar gemacht. Daher beruht das Jahresthema 2013 auf dem Aspekt der konzipierten Räume, auf den Projektionen und Visionen, die mental (vor)produziert werden, und damit Raumentwicklung faktisch beeinflussen. Auf welchen Wissensbeständen beruht(e) planerisches Handeln hinsichtlich der öffentlichen Räume, und wie verändert sich diese Situation mit dem Aufkommen der postfordistischen Wissensökonomien? Bestehen bereits wissenschaftliche Vorstöße, die stadtkulturelle mit wissensbezogenen Perspektiven zum öffentlichen Raum verbinden?

In 2013 wird daher eine Herangehensweise verfolgt, bei der die Technische Universität Wien (TU Wien) und ihre Akteure bewusst Bildungskooperationen mit anderen Bildungsinstitutionen (Schulen, Volkshochschulen, Kindergärten, etc.) zum öffentlichen Raum im Sinne von Wissensallianzen eingehen. In dieser Weise sollen die dialogische Wissensvermittlung über die lokalen Eigenarten gewisser Orte, über ihre globalen Überformungen zwischen akademischem Wissen, professionellem Expertenwissen und lokalem Alltagswissen forciert werden (Transdisziplinarität).  Ein derart starker Fokus auf Bildung als Teil von Kultur, und die Anerkennung von Differenz in der Stadtgesellschaft erscheinen einer stadtkulturellen Herangehensweise an Planung und Architektur in demokratisch verfassten Ländern per se eingeschrieben.

 

Kommentare sind geschlossen.