Phase II – 2012

2012 Urban culture, public space, and resources – Aesthetics and materiality

The pooling of already-existing expertise at the Technical University of Vienna (Vienna UT), including in the fields of technology, sustainability, resource conservation, ecology, and aesthetics, represents a major challenge for cross-disciplinary research on public space and urban-cultural themes, if the material production of space is to be dealt with systematically across centers and interdisciplinary centers (interdisciplinarity).  Urban practitioners, including landscape architects, urban planners, urban designers, and architects, are concerned primarily with resources such as the quality of materials and the aesthetic expression of public space and built cultural aspects. In the course of climate change, they are working to conserve resources and integrate new energy-saving technologies into the ecologically oriented design of public space.

In planning culture, informal processes surrounding political resources play a major role in the question of which actors and institutions influence particular parts or the general aspects of urban development and advance the material production of the city. Resources can thus also retain a political dimension in the course of so-called resource pooling. The access to and availability of sensitive, interactive technological and infrastructure networks is also playing an increasingly large role in the critical political economy of the city and more extensive actor-network analysis.

Similarly, the focus in urban development on the scarcity of resources and their possible management is per se economic. With cities’ increasing competition for attention and reputation – in the symbolic and media economies – “soft”, intangible resources are becoming more and more culturally significant. In 2012 the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) is therefore aligning its efforts through the interdisciplinary combination of different viewpoints, which already exist within the Vienna UT but are fragmented and disconnected, toward the importance of a wide variety of resources to the development of public space. Identifying productive links between technological and built change and social and design progress is conducive to ensuring the protection of the use value of public and collective goods and the public character of public spaces as places where public life unfolds.

The study of material urban living conditions always involves an implicit social issue, even if many researchers are unaware of this in light of the prosperity of the Western world. Only when material provisions are at a minimum level in terms of a city’s quality of life will urban practitioners comprehend the actual privilege of their ongoing normative task: the high-quality material furnishing of urban areas, especially of public spaces and residential areas, is a core task of helping the urban population maintain satisfactory living conditions. In addition to this obligation with regard to material standards, freestyle aesthetic advances gain importance, even against the backdrop of increasing oversaturation of information and attention deficits, if the slowing down of contemporary rhythms of life in the capitalist meritocracy and freedom from stress in overstimulating urban space is to be encouraged.

Researchers are often suspicious that aesthetics are used in the service of economic enhancement and de-politicization of socio-political issues or of favoring structural social segregation in public places through the use of symbolic codes. On the other hand, aesthetics have far-reaching effects on perception and carry meaning in the built environment that reflects the values ​​and traditions of urban society. In public space, a wide range of aesthetic perception comes into play: beyond the aesthetics of the everyday and of high culture, aesthetics in general speaks to subtlety, and therefore to the experiences and feelings of the people – their emotions. Used cleverly, in the optimal scenario, aesthetic standards can be used in the service of urban society to establish meaning, to stimulate well-being, and to sustainably engage new technologies in a broader sense – not just for the majority of voters.

The theme in 2012, “Urban culture, public space, and resources – Aesthetics and materiality”, therefore refers to the many understandings of the materials from which public space is structurally arranged and built, as well as of the materiality of urban-cultural interventions. Abstractly speaking, we are concerned with the material production of space as a facet of the social production of space, an area where aesthetics can be given a particular, albeit ambivalent, role. At the same time, aesthetic change is an essential analytical starting point in urban studies for research into the widely varying phenomena of social change.

Therefore, in 2012, the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space has chosen an interdisciplinary approach with the goal of bringing together the diverse expertise of heterogeneous faculty and staff at Vienna UT. Within our institution we are working across disciplines, occupations, and subject areas in order to gain knowledge about new technologies for public space and for urban-cultural interventions. Similarly, we would like to address the broad social embedding of technical innovation and sustainable materiality within the context of cultural and sociological insights and criticism. Finally, aesthetics can also serve as a social-scientific approach to knowledge production in urban planning and to advance insights in urban research; thus, it represents a connection to the other year’s themes.

Phase II – 2012

2012 Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und RessourcenÄsthetik und Materialität

Die Bündelung bereits existenter Expertise an der Technischen Universität Wien (TU Wien), etwa aus den Feldern Technik, Nachhaltigkeit, Ressourcenschonung, Ökologie und Ästhetik, stellt für die Disziplinen übergreifende Erforschung öffentlicher Räume und stadtkultureller Aspekte eine große Herausforderung, will man die materielle Produktion des Raumes fach- und arbeitsbereichsübergreifend systematisch vorantreiben (Interdisziplinarität). Stadtgestaltende, darunter Landschaftsarchitekten, Stadtplanerinnen, Städtebauer und Architektinnen beschäftigen sich primär mit Ressourcen wie etwa mit der Beschaffenheit von Materialien und mit dem ästhetischen Ausdruck öffentlicher Räume und baukultureller Aspekte. Im Zuge des klimatischen Wandels sind sie bemüht, Ressourcen schonend zu planen und neue Technologien der lokalen Energiegewinnung in die ökologisch orientierte Gestaltung öffentlicher Räume einzubinden.

Planungskulturell spielen informelle Prozesse um politische Ressourcen eine große Rolle bei der Frage, welche Akteure und Institutionen gemeinsam punktuell oder gesamtstädtisch Stadtentwicklung beeinflussen und die materielle Produktion der Stadt vorantreiben. Ressourcen können hier also auch eine politische Dimension im Zuge des so genannten Ressourcenpooling erhalten, auch spielt der Zugriff und die Verfügbarkeit sensibler, interaktiv reagierender Technik- und Infrastruktur-Netzwerke eine zunehmend große Rolle in der Kritischen Politischen Ökonomie der Stadt und in weiter gehender Akteur-Netzwerk-Analysen.

Gleichermaßen ist der Fokus auf die Knappheit von Ressourcen und ihre mögliche Bewirtschaftung in der Stadtentwicklung ein per se ökonomischer. Mit verschärftem Wettbewerb der Städte um Aufmerksamkeit und Reputation – hier geht es um symbolische und mediale Ökonomien – erlangen zunehmend  „weiche“, immaterielle Ressourcen stadtkulturelle Signifikanz. 2012 wird das Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) daher seine Bestrebungen mittels der interdisziplinären Verknüpfung verschiedener Sichtweisen, die bereits fragmentiert und unverbunden innerhalb der Technischen Universität Wien bestehen, auf die Bedeutung von ganz unterschiedlichen Ressourcen für die Entwicklung öffentlicher Räume ausrichten. Es gilt, produktive Anknüpfungsstellen zwischen technologischem und baulichem Wandel und sozialem und gestalterischem Fortschritt aufzuspüren, die den Schutz des Gebrauchswertes, von Allgemein- und Kollektivgütern  garantieren und dem öffentlichen Charakter öffentlicher Räume als Orten, an denen sich öffentliches Leben entfaltet zuträglich sind.

Immer aber beinhaltet die Erforschung der materiellen Lebensbedingungen in den Städten eine implizit soziale Frage, gleich wenn vielen Forschenden dies vor dem Hintergrund des Wohlstands in der westlichen Welt weniger bewusst ist. Erst dann, wenn die materielle Versorgung mit Lebensqualität in den Städten an Minimalgrenzen stößt, wird Stadtgestaltenden das eigentliche Privileg ihrer andauernden normativen Aufgabe klar vor Augen geführt: Die Ausstattung von Stadtgebieten, speziell von öffentlichen Räumen und Wohngebieten, mit guter materieller Qualität ist eine Kernaufgabe der Erstversorgung der Stadtbevölkerung mit menschenwürdigen  Lebensbedingungen. Neben dieser Pflicht der materiellen Grundausstattung gewinnt die Kür ästhetischer Avancen auch vor dem Hintergrund zunehmender Informationsübersättigung und Aufmerksamkeitsdefizite an Bedeutung, will man der Entschleunigung gegenwärtiger Lebensrhythmen in der kapitalistischen Leistungsgesellschaft und der Befreiung von Stress im reizübersättigten Stadträumen Vorschub leisten.

Ästhetik steht hier oftmals im Verdacht der Stadtforschenden, in den Dienst der wirtschaftlichen Aufwertung und Depolitisierung gesellschaftspolitischer Fragen gestellt zu werden oder strukturelle soziale Segregation durch symbolische Codes in öffentlichen Räumen zu begünstigen. Sie hat aber, andererseits, weitreichende wahrnehmungspsychologische Wirkungen und ist Trägerin baukultureller Bedeutungszuschreibungen, die Werthaltungen und Traditionen der Stadtgesellschaft reflektieren. In öffentlichen Räumen kommt ein breites Spektrum ästhetischer Wahrnehmungen zum Tragen: Jenseits von Alltagsästhetik und Hochkulturschema spricht Ästhetik ganz allgemein den Feinsinn, und damit Erfahrungen und Empfindungen der Menschen – ihren Affekt – an. Clever eingesetzt vermag es ästhetischer Anspruch im Optimalfall, Sinn zu stiften, Wohlbefinden zu stimulieren und neue Technologien in ressourcenschonender Weise in den Dienst der Stadtgesellschaft im weiteren Sinne – und nicht nur der Mehrheiten der Wähler –  zu stellen.

Der Jahresschwerpunkt 2012 „Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Ressourcen – Ästhetik und Materialität“ verweist daher auf die vielen Betrachtungsweisen jener Materialien, aus denen die baulichen Arrangements öffentlicher Räume errichtet werden, wie auch auf die Materialität stadtkultureller Interventionen. Abstrakt gesprochen befassen wir uns mit der materiellen Produktion des Raumes als einer Facette der gesellschaftlichen Raumproduktion, bei der Ästhetik eine besondere, wenngleich ambivalente Rolle beigemessen werden kann. Gleichzeitig ist ästhetischer Wandel eine unverzichtbare analytische Eingangsdimension der Urbanistik für die Erforschung ganz unterschiedlicher Teilphänomene gesellschaftlichen Wandels.

Das Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space wählt daher im Jahr 2012 eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise, deren Ziel es ist,  die vielseitige Expertise ganz unterschiedlicher Kolleginnen und Mitarbeiter an der TU Wien zusammenzubringen, innerhalb unserer Institution disziplinen-, arbeits- und fachbereichsübergreifend zu arbeiten, um Kenntnisse über neue Technologien für den öffentlichen Raum und für stadtkulturelle Interventionen zu gewinnen. Ebenso möchten wir die weite gesellschaftliche Einbettung von technischer Innovation und ressourcenschonender Materialität vor dem Hintergrund kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und Kritik thematisieren. Schließlich kann auch Ästhetik als sozialwissenschaftliche Eingangsdimension zur Wissensproduktion für die Stadtplanung und für den Erkenntnisgewinn in der Stadtforschung dienen und stellt daher eine Verbindung zu den weiteren Jahresthemen dar.

 

Kommentare sind geschlossen.