Phase II: 2012 – 2014

 

2014 Urban culture, public space and ways of life – Everyday life and scientific insights

The social production of lived space ranges from meaningful experience in everyday life to scientific insights. It connects and consolidates further themes from the second funding cycle – the material focus on resources and the mental focus on knowledge in the production of space. Each (technical, aesthetic) innovation, every (academic) advance occurs in a social environment, and thus cannot be understood as separate from the social circumstances of a particular (urban) society. At the same time, public space represents the inevitable interface of research on cities in the tensions between emotion, experience, and affect, and between the boundaries of rationality, the symbolic production of meaningful places, and the accumulation of cultural capital. Read more.

2013 Urban culture, public space, and knowledge – Education and difference

It is a normative task of urban planners to link various fields of knowledge with the goal of managing spatial development sustainably and democratically. They continuously produce and utilize spatial knowledge (mental production of space). They outline ideas, projections, and visions based on data that will later be carved in stone and cast in steel in hopes of offering support – a robust backbone – for the dynamic changes in society. Space as a productive process “is considered here at one (…) level as a result of accumulated scientific insights that permeate the working process and thus are materially effective” (Schmid 2005, 207, translated by William Magruder). Read more.

2012 Urban culture, public space, and resources – Aesthetics and materiality

The pooling of already-existing expertise at the Technical University of Vienna (Vienna UT), including in the fields of technology, sustainability, resource conservation, ecology, and aesthetics, represents a major challenge for cross-disciplinary research on public space and urban-cultural themes, if the material production of space is to be dealt with systematically across centers and interdisciplinary centers (interdisciplinarity).  Urban practitioners, including landscape architects, urban planners, urban designers, and architects, are concerned primarily with resources such as the quality of materials and the aesthetic expression of public space and built cultural aspects. Read more.

Phase II: 2012 – 2014

Phase II – Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Stadtentwicklung (2012 – 2014)

2014  Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Lebensweisen – Alltag und Erkenntnis

Die soziale Produktion des gelebten Raumes spannt den Bogen zwischen bedeutsamer Alltagserfahrung und wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis. Sie überbrückt und verknüpft die weiteren  Themen des zweiten Förderzyklus – den materiellen Fokus auf Ressourcen und den mentalen Fokus auf Wissen in der Raumproduktion. Jede (technische, ästhetische) Innovation, jeder (akademische) Erkenntnisfortschritt passiert in einem sozialen Umfeld, kann also nicht losgelöst von den sozialen Gegebenheiten einer jeweiligen (Stadt)Gesellschaft verstanden werden. Gleichermaßen stellen öffentliche Räume das unausweichliche Scharnier der Erforschung der Städte in den Spannungsfeldern zwischen Emotionalität, Erfahrungen und Affekt, sowie zwischen den Grenzen der Rationalität, der symbolischen Produktion von bedeutungsschwangeren Orten und der Akkumulation von kulturellem Kapital dar. Mehr lesen.

2013 Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Wissen – Bildung und Differenz

Es ist normative Aufgabe von Stadtplanenden, verschiedene Wissensfelder mit dem Ziel zu verknüpfen, räumliche Entwicklung nachhaltig und demokratisch zu steuern. Sie produzieren kontinuierlich raumbezogenes Wissen und wenden dies permanent an (mentale Raumproduktion). Von ihnen werden datenbasierte Vorstellungen, Projektionen und Visionen skizziert, die später in der Hoffnung in Stein gemeißelt und Stahl gegossen werden, dem dynamischen gesellschaftlichen Wandel Rückhalt – ein  robustes Rückgrat – zu bieten. Raum als produktiver Prozess „wird hier auf einer (…) Ebene betrachtet, als Resultat von akkumulierten wissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen, die den Arbeitsprozess durchdringen und damit materiell wirksam werden.“ (Schmid 2005, 207). Mehr lesen.

2012 Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Ressourcen – Ästhetik und Materialität 

Die Bündelung bereits existenter Expertise an der Technischen Universität Wien (TU Wien), etwa aus den Feldern Technik, Nachhaltigkeit, Ressourcenschonung, Ökologie und Ästhetik, stellt für die Disziplinen übergreifende Erforschung öffentlicher Räume und für stadtkulturelle Aspekte eine große Herausforderung dar, will man die materielle Produktion des Raumes fach- und arbeitsbereichsübergreifend systematisch vorantreiben (Interdisziplinarität). Stadtgestaltende, darunter Landschaftsarchitekten, Stadtplanerinnen, Städtebauer und Architektinnen beschäftigen sich primär mit Ressourcen wie etwa mit der Beschaffenheit von Materialien und mit dem ästhetischen Ausdruck öffentlicher Räume und baukultureller Aspekte. Mehr lesen.

 

Kommentare sind geschlossen.