Basics

Public spaces as societal processes

The Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR) is a horizontal institution at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning at TU Wien dedicated at identifying connecting characteristics between urban research and urban planning and design, between practice and theory regarding the thematically combined fields of urban culture and public space. In collaboration with luminaries and experts from different disciplines and countries, we try to explore how public spaces work as societal processes in urban environments. They ‚sediment‘ as constructed or built spaces, for instance taking the shape of designed or constructed projects, in which cultural aspects are increasingly imbedded by diverse players with a manifold spectrum of interests.
 In order to gain inspiration for content from such fields as planning theory and practice as well as spatial theory and urban research, the parent body at TU Wien agreed to a three-year program based on a conceptual approach proposed by Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sabine Knierbein:

  • Urban culture, public space and urban society – civil society, state, markets (2009-2011)
  • Urban culture, public space and urban development – resources, knowledge, ways of life (2012-2014)
  • Urban culture, public space and the education of urban professionals  – past, present, future (2015-2017)
  • Urban culture, public space and housing (2018)

More information.

Interdisciplinary, transdisciplinary, and postdisciplinary perspectives

An initial premise of the program is to make allowances for the complexity of the subject: public space is, after all, not only a field of different disciplinary perspectives but a social sphere of varied expression as well as the assertion of interests which could not be more diverse. Additionally, analysis of opportunities with regard to the simultaneous difference and distinction of actors in public space, and structural agendas set by planners and architects, illustrate the complexity of the subject of urban culture. This understanding rests on the premise that processes of producing public spaces almost always involve actors from various institutional spheres within society – civil society, the state and the markets. These actors and institutions many times have a direct steering and shaping effect on public space. Thus as city planners, urban designers, and urban researchers, they influence the physical and mental as well as the social and cultural production of space in a systematic and limiting way. They have only a restricted effect on the actual cultural and social public life that unfolds in public space. The extent of their effectiveness in public space is all too often overestimated by some, while others come close to denying it. It is therefore necessary on the analytical level to find a postdisciplinary approach that enables processes of production of urban form to be understood within a relational understanding of space, and thus to bridge morphology and social processes. To this end, perspectives on public space in the sense of the above-described fine line between built outcomes and the social processes of production are to be honed. With the “interdisciplinary, transdisciplinary, postdisciplinary” triad, varying approaches to the systematic use of a plurality of perspectives are addressed across divisions within the university (interdisciplinary), between scholarship and practice (transdisciplinary), or developed out of the complexity of the object (postdisciplinary). It is essential to condense, sharpen, and clarify knowledge about public space from different sectors according to their socio-political relevance in the sense of progress in scientific insight.

Know Why and Know How

The second premise of Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space’s work is the combination of know why (theory) and know how (practice). In terms of application and implementation, the knowledge generated from socio-scientific urban research is confronted with aspects of urban design and planning in order to train future graduates in fields such as planning and architecture, together with other spatially relevant disciplines. Students learn how to distinguish between the logic of the two approaches which sometimes run in a contrary direction but which are nevertheless intertwined, and light is shed on the advantages of both approaches, following which – after necessary reflection – their competent use is facilitated. How can planners and architects, as actors in this social conglomerate, intervene in processes in order to upgrade the quality of public spaces during their formulation and thus make their creative contribution to the social alignment of interests in cities. Finally, and in terms of a democratic urban society, the question remains as to the basic normative attitudes and technical stances on which planning and design should be based and founded.

Explorative approaches and space production

In this area of conflict the use of explorative approaches in urban design, urban planning and urban research is the basis for the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space’s future work, constituting its third premise. This concerns the issue of social innovation in planning and research, together with the question as to how innovations in research and teaching methods (e.g. spatial filming, action research, serious games, …) may trigger changes in the approach to spatial problems. This consideration is invariably based upon a reflection as to the various types of understanding of space which cause and are influenced by the actions of people. The use of explorative methodical approaches in urban research and urban planning should therefore be understood as a plea for a permanent reflection on spatial concepts in theory and practice, the necessity of which becomes manifest with a critical glance at the area of conflict between perceived, conceived and lived (public) spaces of contemporary cities.

Prämissen des Wirkens

Öffentliche Räume als gesellschaftliche Prozesse

SKuOR ist ein Disziplinen übergreifend arbeitender horizontaler Arbeitsbereich, der Anknüpfungspunkte zwischen Stadtforschung und Stadtplanung und -gestaltung, zwischen Praxis und Theorie in den kombinierten Themengebieten Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum aufspürt. Mit Fachgrößen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen und Ländern wird zu ergründen versucht, wie öffentliche Räume als Vergesellschaftungsprozesse in der Stadt funktionieren. Diese ‚sedimentieren‘ baulich räumlich, etwa in Form gestalteter und geplanter Projekte, bei denen immer stärker auch stadtkulturelle Aspekte diverser Akteure mit unterschiedlichsten Interessen zum Tragen kommen. Um inhaltliche Inspirationen sowohl aus Planungstheorie und -praxis sowie aus Raumtheorie und Stadtforschung zu erhalten, hat man sich an der TU Wien auf Basis des Vorschlags von Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sabine Knierbein über ein inhaltliches Dreijahresprogramm verständigt:

  • Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Stadtgesellschaft – Zivilgesellschaft, Staat, Markt (2009-2011)
  • Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und Stadtentwicklung – Ressourcen, Wissen, Lebensweisen (2012-2014)
  • Stadtkultur, öffentlicher Raum und die Bildung urbaner Experten – Vergangenheit, Gegenwart, Zukunft (2015-2017)

Weitere Informationen.

Perspektivenvielfalt interdisziplinär, transdisziplinär und postdisziplinär

Damit soll als erster Prämisse der Komplexität der zwei Gegenstände – Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum – Rechnung getragen werden, schließlich sind öffentliche Räume nicht nur ein Feld verschiedener disziplinärer Perspektiven, sondern ebenfalls eine gesellschaftliche Sphäre des mannigfaltigen Ausdrucks und der Durchsetzung von Interessen, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Und auch Auseinandersetzungen mit Chancen bei gleichzeitiger Differenz und Distinktion der Akteure in öffentlichen Räumen, und die strukturellen Weichenstellungen, die Planer und Architektinnen hier vornehmen, veranschaulichen die Vielschichtigkeit des Gegenstands Stadtkultur. Denn an den Prozessen der kulturellen und sozialen Produktion öffentlicher Räume sind nahezu immer Akteure der Zivilgesellschaft, des Staats und der Märkte mit ganz unterschiedlichen Ressourcen, Wissensbeständen und Lebensweisen beteiligt. Diese Akteure und Institutionen wirken manches Mal direkt steuernd und gestaltend in den öffentlichen Raum, und beeinflussen damit als Stadtplanende, Stadtgestaltende und Stadtforschende Prozesse der materiellen und mentalen, der sozialen und kulturellen Raumproduktion systematisch und limitiert. Sie haben nur einen eingeschränkten Einfluss auf das tatsächliche kulturelle und soziale öffentliche Leben, dass sich in öffentlichen Räumen entfaltet. Ihr Wirkungsradius in öffentlichen Räumen wird von Einigen all zu oft überschätzt, wohingegen ihn Andere nahezu negieren. Es erscheint daher notwendig, auf der analytischen Ebene eine postdisziplinäre Herangehensweise zu finden, die es ermöglicht, Prozesse der Produktion von Stadtgestalt aus einem relationalen Raumverständnis zu verstehen, also eben jenen Brückenschlag zwischen Morphologie und gesellschaftlichen Prozessen zu vollziehen. Dazu ist die Perspektive auf öffentliche Räume im Sinne der oben bezeichneten Gratwanderung zwischen baulichem Ergebnis und gesellschaftlichen Produktionsprozessen zu schärfen. Mit dem Dreiklang „Interdisziplinär, Transdisziplinär, Postdisziplinär“ werden variierende Herangehensweisen der systematischen Anwendung von Perspektivenvielfalt – bereichsübergreifend innerhalb der Universität (inter-), zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis (trans-) oder aus der Komplexität des Gegenstandes heraus (post-) – thematisiert. Denn es gilt, Wissen zu öffentlichen Räumen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen entsprechend ihrer gesellschaftspolitischen Relevanz im Sinne des wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisfortschritts zu bündeln, zu schärfen und zu präzisieren.

Know Why und Know How

Eine zweite Prämisse der Arbeit des SKuOR ist die Kombination von Know Why (Theorie) mit Know How (Praxis). Denn die aus der sozialwissenschaftlichen Raumforschung generierten Erkenntnisse werden im Hinblick auf den Anwendungs- und Umsetzungsbezug mit Sichtweisen aus  Raumplanung und Raumgestaltung konfrontiert, um zukünftigige Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Raumplanung und der Architektur sowie weiterer raumrelevanter Disziplinen darin zu schulen, die Logiken beider Herangehensweisen, die oftmals konträr zueinander laufen und doch miteinander verstrickt sind, unterscheiden zu lernen und die Vorzüge beider Herangehensweisen herauszuarbeiten und reflexionskompetent einsetzen zu können. Konkret wird gefragt: Wie können Planer, wie Gestalterinnen  als Akteure in dieser gesellschaftlichen Gemengelage in Prozesse intervenieren, um die Qualität öffentlicher Räume bereits in den Prozessen ihrer Produktion aufzuwerten und ihren kreativen Beitrag zum gesellschaftlichen Interessenausgleich in den Städten zu leisten. Schließlich wird gefragt, auf welchen normativen Grundhaltungen, auf welchen fachpolitischen Positionierungen Planung sowie Gestaltung jeweils basieren und auf welchen sie – im Sinne einer demokratischen Stadtgesellschaft – gründen sollten.

Explorative Ansätze und Raumproduktion

In diesem Spannungsfeld liegt die Arbeit mit explorativen Ansätzen in Planung und Forschung dem Wirken des SKuOR als dritte Prämisse zugrunde. Hier geht es um das Thema von Innovationen in Planung und Forschung, gleichwie um die Frage, wie man mit veränderten Forschungs- und Lehrmethoden (z.B. spatial filming, action research) veränderte Herangehensweisen an räumliche Problemlagen hervorbringen kann. Diesem Ansatz liegt immer auch eine Reflexion der verschiedenen Raumverständnisse zu grunde, die das Handeln von Menschen beeinflussen und durch dieses hervorgebracht werden. Die Arbeit mit explorativen methodischen Ansätzen in der Raumforschung und Raumplanung ist daher als Plädoyer für eine permanente Reflexion über Raumkonzeptionen in Theorie und Praxis zu verstehen, deren Notwendigkeit sich mit dem kritischen Blick auf das Spannungsfeld zwischen wahrgenommenen, konzipierten sowie gelebten (öffentlichen) Räumen in gegenwärtigen Städten manifestiert.

 

Kommentare sind geschlossen.