Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space (SKuOR)

Profile

Why do traditional planning instruments often fail to strengthen public spaces as social spaces? What exactly is “public” about public spaces and how can culture in cities contribute to stimulating processes of social exchange and social confrontation? Read more…

Programme

Financed by funds endowed by the City of Vienna since 2008, the Interdisciplinary Centre for Urban Culture and Public Space contributes to the teaching and research activities of TU Wien. It achieves this by establishing and strengthening academic networks at the European level as well as intensifying the dialogue between the municipal administration and Vienna’s universities. Read more…

Structure

As part of the Faculty for Architecture and Planning, the Interdisciplinary Centre has been established as a new horizontal institution featuring a dialogical structure. Its aim is to discover existing potentials in fields such as urban culture and public space as well as to connect and pool their content in a synergetic manner within the framework of the given teaching and research focus. Read more…

flyer_page1

 

Comments are closed.

Arbeitsbereich für Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum (SKuOR)

Profil

Warum funktionieren traditionelle Planungsinstrumente oftmals nicht, um öffentliche Räume als Sozialräume zu stärken? Was genau wird als ‚öffentlich’ an öffentlichen Räumen verstanden und wie kann Kultur in den Städten dazu beitragen, Prozesse sozialen Austausches und gesellschaftlicher Konfrontation zu stimulieren? Mehr lesen…

Programm

Der Arbeitsbereich Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum (SKuOR), der seit 2008 mit Stiftungsmitteln der Stadt Wien materiell gefördert wird, bringt sich  in Forschung und Lehre an der TU Wien ein und forciert sogleich die Etablierung und Verfestigung akademischer Netzwerke auf europäischer Ebene sowie den Dialog zwischen Stadtverwaltung und Universitäten in Wien. Mehr lesen…

Struktur

Mit dem SKuOR hat sich an der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung der TU Wien eine horizontale und dialogisch aufgebaute Struktur institutionell etabliert, deren Aufgabe es ist, bereits vorhandene akademische Potenziale in den Themenfeldern Stadtkultur und öffentlicher Raum aufzuspüren und synergetisch im Sinne des gegebenen thematischen Lehr- und Forschungsschwerpunktes inhaltlich zu bündeln. Mehr lesen…

flyer_page1

 

Kommentare sind geschlossen.